Construction & Real Estate Creditors' Rights & Banking Commercial Disputes & Litigation Insurance Coverage Professional Liability Tort Litigation
Candice R. Broock Christopher T. Carson Jeffrey M. Kilmer (ret.) Donald W. Kolb James P. Laurick Robert S. May Robert B. Miller Robert C. Muth Kurt C. Peterson Graham M. Sweitzer Peter J. Viteznik Stephen C. Voorhees Bob Patterson Douglas H. Swayne

Our Professionals

Jeffrey M. Kilmer (retired)
Attorney at Law

Kilmer Voorhees & Laurick, P.C.
732 NW 19th Avenue
Portland, Oregon 97209

Tel 503-224-0055
Fax 503-222-5290

In 1984, Jeff approached Stephen Voorhees, James Laurick and Andrew Chenoweth about forming a new firm. Together the four of them merged with a small Portland firm which eventually grew within several years to 14 lawyers. Several years later, many of the attorneys with which the firm originally merged with separated and the original founders, Kilmer, Voorhees & Laurick continued to practice and grow into the firm that bears their name today.

From 1969 to 1970 Jeff served as a Law Clerk to the Oregon Supreme Court Justice Gordan Sloan. In 1971, Jeff became the Chief Deputy District Attorney in the Multnomah County District Attorney's Office and served in that role through 1973. In 1974, Jeff served as the Chief Trial Deputy District Attorney for the Lane County District Attorney's Office.

Jeff practiced in the areas of Insurance Defense, Commercial and Business Litigation, Medical Malpractice and Employment Practice.

Jeff was a member of the Oregon State Bar and Washington State Bar as well as a member of the Oregon Association of Defense Counsel and the Defense Research Institute.

He retired in 2010.

Areas of Practice

  • Insurance Defense
  • Business and Commercial Litigation
  • Medical Malpractice
  • Employment


  • Ohio Wesleyan University, Oberlin College (B.A., 1963)
  • University of Cincinnati (J.D., 1969), Order of the Coif. Note Editor, University of Cincinnati Law Review, 1968-1969


  • Oregon State Bar, 1969
  • U.S. District Court, District of Oregon, 1970
  • Washington State Bar, 1983
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit, 1985
  • U.S. Supreme Court, 1985